Search Form

About

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pintrest
  • Share
  • Print

Library & Archives

Nancy Culver Jones Library

The Nancy Culver Jones Memorial Library is located across from Wesley Hall. The library began in 1975 as part of what was then known as the Resource Center. Today, the library continues to offer educational resources for all ages. The library’s collection includes new titles in contemporary Christian literature, daily devotionals, and teaching resources in print and DVD formats, as well as Methodism classics.

Contact: library@myfumc.org | 817-339-5083

FUMC Fort Worth Archives

FUMCFW Archives was established in early 2006 by a dedicated group of church members who wanted to ensure that the church’s rich history would be preserved for future generations. Today, the collection contains approximately 360 cubic feet of records and historical materials related to FUMC Fort Worth. The Archive retains the vital records of the church, including membership and baptismal records, plus records created by Sunday School classes (dating back to the 1920s) and church groups such as the United Methodist Women and its predecessor, the Women’s Foreign Missionary Society.

First Methodist Church was organized in 1853 by Rev. John Wesley Chalk. In 1874, the first building was constructed at Fourth and Jones Streets. A second brick church was built at the same location in 1887. In 1908, First Methodist Episcopal Church, South, as it was known at the time, had a new home; the church at Seventh and Taylor Streets was the third structure and the second location. The groundbreaking for our present location at Fifth and Florence Streets was held on October 29, 1929. Despite the beginning of the Great Depression, the cornerstone was laid in 1930.

Early membership and baptismal records are fragile and incomplete. Copies are available upon request.

Membership: 1892 – 1896; 1896 – 1924; 1903 – 1905; 1906 – 1909; 1934 – 1945; Preparatory Members for 1939 – 1952
Marriages: 1903 – 1906; 1908 – 1915; 1944 – 1947
Infant Baptisms: 1894 – 1895; 1903 – 1922; 1946 – 1953

The Archives is located in Room 223 of the main church building. Volunteers have worked tirelessly to create a documenting procedure for the items that are already in the church’s possession and for collections donated to us in the future.

Please contact us if you wish to schedule a visit or donate. For research requests, see the form below.

Contact: archives@myfumc.org | 817-339-2401

For additional information about the history of First Methodist Church, Fort Worth, researchers may wish to explore the following archives and digital collections:

First Methodist Church Collection at Fort Worth Public Library
Central Texas Conference of the United Methodist Church Archives and History
Tarrant County Archives
The Portal to Texas History

Library & Archives Request

While the Archives can undertake limited research requests, it is usually best if the researcher can come to the Archives. However, we will make every effort to find the information you are requesting. Although our volunteer staff is small, and it may take 3 – 4 weeks to get an answer, we will get back to you.

Return to Top